As a driver in Pennsylvania, you’re responsible for understanding and following the rules of the road. If you’ve just moved to Philadelphia from out-of-state, you may have noticed that the Keystone State’s traffic laws are a bit different than you might be used to. Read on to learn more about 5 key traffic laws every driver in PA must follow.
Keep an eye out for school buses when you drive. In Pennsylvania, it’s illegal to pass a school bus when it’s unloading or loading children. If the bus’s amber lights are flashing, don’t attempt to pass.
Drivers under the age of 18 may not transport more passengers than they have seatbelts in their vehicle.
If you’re riding a bicycle, you must follow all of the standard Pennsylvania driving laws that apply to cars and trucks. This includes signaling before you make a turn with your hands. Driving behind a cyclist? The law says you must leave at least 4 feet between you and the cyclist.
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense in Pennsylvania. If convicted, you may face up to $300 in fines, a 6-month probation period, and up to 6 months in jail. Take steps to prevent drunk driving when you go out. Always arrange a designated driver or use a ridesharing app to get home safely after a night out. If you’re planning a large event, you may want to arrange a party or wedding bus in Philadelphia, PA to avoid accidents.
In Pennsylvania, you only need to display license plates on the rear of your vehicle. You don’t need to add front plates if you don’t already have them on your car.
Professional wedding transportation in NJ and PA from YellowBird Bus Company perfectly complements any event! To learn more or book your transportation, give us a call today at 215-352-3042.